forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index forums.silverfrost.com
Welcome to the Silverfrost forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Disappearing Output

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index -> 64-bit
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SaintMichael57



Joined: 28 Nov 2016
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2019 10:51 pm    Post subject: Disappearing Output Reply with quote

Dear Silverfrost forum members:
Despite my including all of the necessary code in my programs, including the output statements, once I run my programs, there is no output! What am I doing wrong? I am running Microsoft Windows 10 64-bit as an operating system. Thank you. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mecej4



Joined: 31 Oct 2006
Posts: 1191

PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2019 1:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please show a few of the file access and I/O statements. State how you build and run the program. Then, after seeing the details, we may be able to tell you what else to try.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulLaidler
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 6038
Location: Salford, UK

PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2019 7:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In particular are you creating a "console" application and are you running the program from a "Command prompt" window or from a IDE such as Visual Studio or Plato?

A console application run from Windows Explorer or Visual Studio may not pause to allow you to see the results.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wahorger



Joined: 13 Oct 2014
Posts: 626
Location: Morrison, CO, USA

PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2019 11:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alternatively, put a PAUSE statement in your program just before the STOP statement and see if you can see the output. Direct all program control to the PAUSE statement (stated another way, only allow one way out of the program).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
John-Silver



Joined: 30 Jul 2013
Posts: 1203
Location: Aerospace Valley

PostPosted: Wed Oct 02, 2019 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SaintMichael57 (*),
following on from Paul's comment, just try just adding WINAPP (if it's not already there) as the first line of a program and see if it outputs as you want ...
https://silverfrost.com/ftn95-help/clearwinp/clearwin/simpleprograms.aspx
__________________________-

(*) patron saint of Heinz baked beans maybe ? Wink
_________________
''Computers (HAL and MARVIN excepted) are incredibly rigid. They question nothing. Especially input data.Human beings are incredibly trusting of computers and don't check input data. Together cocking up even the simplest calculation ... Smile "
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index -> 64-bit All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group