forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index forums.silverfrost.com
Welcome to the Silverfrost forums

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Getting started with Fortran77 personal Compiler

Post new topic   Reply to topic    forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index -> Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
coleman

PostPosted: Mon Sep 18, 2006 4:19 am    Post subject: Getting started with Fortran77 personal Compiler Reply with quote

I imagine this is more elementary than any other queries on this site. I want to use once more various old Fortran77 programs that I have not been able to use for many years since the university abolished its mainframe. I have no experience, therefore in PC compilers and I can't seem to get beyond the first step.

This is a description of how far I have got to and any advice would be highly appreciated.

Installation from the downloaded ZIP file is reported to be complete and the components are all in the recommended WIN32app
folder on the C drive.

However I cannot get any of them to do anything.
When I try to open it, ftn77 flashes briefly and disappears.So does mk77.
RUN77 reports ' no run file specified' Fair enough, but there seems to be no facilty for specifying one. Likewise DBG77.
slink and makeda77 require inputs but I cannot find instructions about which inputs.
In Demo/Fortran, MKFORT runs quickly through a program and disappears in about one second.
stats1 reports a run-time error. stats just flashes briefly, so does hello.

I did, however, manage to play 'chess'.

The problem(s) must be related to various missing elements and links. The User's Guide (p 16) refers to a batch file FTN77VAR.BAT in the FTN77 directory.
There is no FTN77 directory.
There is no .bat file called FTN77VAR.BAT or anything else.