soccer jersey forums.silverfrost.com :: View topic - KernelBase.pdb not loaded
forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index forums.silverfrost.com
Welcome to the Silverfrost forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

KernelBase.pdb not loaded
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index -> Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Kevin



Joined: 01 Mar 2012
Posts: 34
Location: Ascot, UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2023 3:28 pm    Post subject: KernelBase.pdb not loaded Reply with quote

After having trouble logging in a couple of weeks ago, I am now presented with the errors KernelBase.pdb not loaded, then InProcessClient32.pdb not loaded when running a Win32 project in Visual Studio. I have to press F5 15 times to get past these errors and then I'm good to go!
C++/C# projects work ok.
On the error screen I am getting a System exception: FormatMessage failed.
I have been through the Google suggestions in Tools-Options but no joy.
Any ideas anyone ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulLaidler
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 7942
Location: Salford, UK

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2023 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it an FTN95 project and literally Win32 (i.e. not .NET)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Kevin



Joined: 01 Mar 2012
Posts: 34
Location: Ascot, UK

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2023 5:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, pure Win32, no .NET.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulLaidler
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 7942
Location: Salford, UK

PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2023 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried a clean rebuild?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Kevin



Joined: 01 Mar 2012
Posts: 34
Location: Ascot, UK

PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2023 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, plenty of Cleans and Re-builds and a re-install of VS2019.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulLaidler
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 7942
Location: Salford, UK

PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2023 6:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try asking Google. This might help...

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/68013303/visual-studio-2019-cant-load-pdb-files-from-microsoft-symbol-server-what-to-do
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Kevin



Joined: 01 Mar 2012
Posts: 34
Location: Ascot, UK

PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2023 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Already tried all Google suggestions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulLaidler
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 7942
Location: Salford, UK

PostPosted: Sat Oct 07, 2023 6:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

These files are only used for debugging but if you can't find a fix then you could use Plato instead.

The Visual Studio project file might work for Plato. It did when Plato was introduced but the structure might have deviated since then.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Kevin



Joined: 01 Mar 2012
Posts: 34
Location: Ascot, UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 09, 2023 9:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the suggestion.
The VS debugging eventually works but it's just a pain having to skip past these screens first of all.
I'll keep trying different things to fix it. Thanks anyway.
Another option would be to upgrade to VS 2022 but I don't believe the FTN95 integration is available for that yet. Any plans/release date ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Robert



Joined: 29 Nov 2006
Posts: 449
Location: Manchester

PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2023 8:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is no integration for VS2022 and there won't be in the near future.

After pressing F5 lots f times, does the debugger work correctly and showing Fortran style variables?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kevin



Joined: 01 Mar 2012
Posts: 34
Location: Ascot, UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2023 9:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shame about no VS2022 integration.
Yep, after the 15 F5 presses, debugger works fine; breakpoints, variable values etc.
I have always had a problem with open files not being remembered each time I start VS2019. All the tabs get removed and I have to open each file every time. That was fine with VS2008 integration. Otherwise debugging is good.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kevin



Joined: 01 Mar 2012
Posts: 34
Location: Ascot, UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2023 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Further investigation shows that the 2nd DLL it was breaking at (InProcessClient32) was being loaded from a SentinelOne directory. I couldn't find an easy way to temporarily disable SentinelOne but if I run VS as an Administrator the breaks disappear and so far all is now good.
Good old virus software - don't you just love it!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DanRRight



Joined: 10 Mar 2008
Posts: 2834
Location: South Pole, Antarctica

PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2023 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kevin, Have you succeeded to install and use VS2022 as well as with functioning Intel compiler? I failed a year ago after 2 weeks of trying and then asking for help of totally clueless Intel folks from the useless Intel Fortran forum who even never tried to use VS2022 with their own Windows compiler still giving their "advices" Laughing (admitting at the end that their PC is collecting the dust for many years in their garage). Linux Intel compiler does not have VS and installs with just one short command or one click. Impression was that Intel Fortran for Windows is dead and nobody cares

Last edited by DanRRight on Sun Oct 15, 2023 11:43 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulLaidler
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 7942
Location: Salford, UK

PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2023 6:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ClearWin+ can be used with iFort as described in this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=50BY9gyNY2o.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Kevin



Joined: 01 Mar 2012
Posts: 34
Location: Ascot, UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2023 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, no problem with VS2022 and Intel compiler integration using the new IFX or Classic IFORT compilers.
Shame about the poor support guys. Bring back Steve Lionel!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index -> Support All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group