|
forums.silverfrost.com Welcome to the Silverfrost forums
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Kenneth_Smith
Joined: 18 May 2012 Posts: 709 Location: Hamilton, Lanarkshire, Scotland.
|
Posted: Thu Aug 11, 2022 11:06 am Post subject: Suggestion %pl[native, scale=****] + CHANGE_PLOT_CHR@ |
|
|
Would it be a simple (i.e. practical and not particularly time-consuming) addition to the library to add �scale� to the native pl options that CHANGE_PLOT_CHR@ be used to modify?
For example, if the scales were both linear when the %pl region was formed two buttons with callbacks would be used to switch x or y from linear to log scales, without the programmer having to use %pl[external] and a %gr to copy the updated %pl[external] back to the users display.
Ken |
|
Back to top |
|
|
PaulLaidler Site Admin
Joined: 21 Feb 2005 Posts: 8011 Location: Salford, UK
|
Posted: Thu Aug 11, 2022 12:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ken
I am not sure what you have in mind.
Is it possible to send me a short sample that does this the hard way using the existing functionality? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Kenneth_Smith
Joined: 18 May 2012 Posts: 709 Location: Hamilton, Lanarkshire, Scotland.
|
Posted: Thu Aug 11, 2022 2:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Paul,
I don't have an example of the hard way (yet), but here's an example of what I was thinking about this morning.
By default, the display is linear on x and y, the button LINEAR_LOG would redraw the graph as it would appear if the call to winop@('%pl[scale=linear_log]') had not been commented out.
So if this functionality was implemented, it would be easy to switch between the four available options for scale (linear, log_linear, linear_log, log_log).
Hopefully, you can see what I am driving at?
Code: | winapp
module surge_arrester_mod
use clrwin
implicit none
integer, parameter :: dp = kind(1.d0)
! Data points correspond to IEEE WG 3.4.11
integer, parameter :: n_a0 = 12
real(dp), parameter :: a0_ka(n_a0) = [0.0000001d0,0.000001d0,0.00001d0,0.0001d0,0.001d0,0.01d0,0.1d0,1.0d0,&
3.816d0,10.d0,20.d0,100.d0]
real(dp), parameter :: a0_a(n_a0) = a0_ka*1000.d0
real(dp), parameter :: a0_vpu(n_a0) = [1.10d0,1.28d0,1.33d0,1.37d0,1.39d0,1.42d0,1.52d0,1.65d0,1.75d0,1.90d0, &
2.10d0,3.69d0]
integer, parameter :: n_a1 = 12
real(dp), parameter :: a1_ka(n_a1) = [0.0000001d0,0.000001d0,0.00001d0,0.0001d0,0.001d0,0.01d0,0.1d0,1.0d0, &
3.816d0,10.0d0,20.0d0,100.0d0]
real(dp), parameter :: a1_a(n_a1) = a1_ka*1000.d0
real(dp), parameter :: a1_vpu(n_a1) = [0.72d0,1.00d0,1.08d0,1.11d0,1.15d0,1.18d0,1.23d0,1.36d0,1.45d0,1.55d0, &
1.65d0,1.95d0]
real(dp) :: vr0 = 458.75d0, vr1 = 570.d0 !Rated voltages
real(dp) a0_kv(n_a0), a1_kv(n_a1)
integer :: n_pl(2) = [n_a0,n_a1]
contains
integer function gui()
integer iw
a0_kv = a0_vpu*vr0 ; a1_kv = a1_vpu*vr1
iw = winio@('%mn[Exit]&','exit')
iw = winio@('%bg&',rgb@(220,220,220))
iw = winio@('%fn[Consolas]&')
call winop@('%pl[native,n_graphs=2,gridlines,smoothing=5,frame]')
call winop@('%pl[x_array,independent]')
! call winop@('%pl[scale=linear_log]') !This would create the display that the button LINEAR_LOG
! !would display
call winop@('%pl[colour=red,symbol=1,tension=0.2]')
call winop@('%pl[colour=blue,symbol=1,tension=0.2]')
call winop@('%pl[width=2]')
call winop@('%pl[x_axis=Amps,y_axis=kV]')
iw = winio@('%pl&',800,500,n_pl,a0_a,a0_kv,&
a1_a,a1_kv)
iw = winio@('%ff%nl%cn%^tt[Log X, Linear Y]&', linear_log_cb)
iw = winio@('')
gui = 1
end function gui
integer function linear_log_cb()
integer i, iw
i = CHANGE_PLOT_CHR@(0,"SCALE", 0, "LINEAR_LOG")
if (i .ne. 0) iw = winio@('%ws%2nl%cn%bn[OK]',CLEARWIN_STRING@('ERROR_REPORT'))
call PLOT_REDRAW@() ; linear_log_cb = 1
end function linear_log_cb
end module surge_arrester_mod
program main
use surge_arrester_mod
i = gui()
end program main |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Kenneth_Smith
Joined: 18 May 2012 Posts: 709 Location: Hamilton, Lanarkshire, Scotland.
|
Posted: Thu Aug 11, 2022 3:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Here is the "hard" way. Perhaps not as hard as I initially thought it would be.
Code: | winapp
module surge_arrester_mod
use clrwin
implicit none
integer, parameter :: dp = kind(1.d0)
! Data points correspond to IEEE WG 3.4.11
integer, parameter :: n_a0 = 12
real(dp), parameter :: a0_ka(n_a0) = [0.0000001d0,0.000001d0,0.00001d0,0.0001d0,0.001d0,0.01d0,0.1d0,1.0d0,&
3.816d0,10.d0,20.d0,100.d0]
real(dp), parameter :: a0_a(n_a0) = a0_ka*1000.d0
real(dp), parameter :: a0_vpu(n_a0) = [1.10d0,1.28d0,1.33d0,1.37d0,1.39d0,1.42d0,1.52d0,1.65d0,1.75d0,1.90d0, &
2.10d0,3.69d0]
integer, parameter :: n_a1 = 12
real(dp), parameter :: a1_ka(n_a1) = [0.0000001d0,0.000001d0,0.00001d0,0.0001d0,0.001d0,0.01d0,0.1d0,1.0d0, &
3.816d0,10.0d0,20.0d0,100.0d0]
real(dp), parameter :: a1_a(n_a1) = a1_ka*1000.d0
real(dp), parameter :: a1_vpu(n_a1) = [0.72d0,1.00d0,1.08d0,1.11d0,1.15d0,1.18d0,1.23d0,1.36d0,1.45d0,1.55d0, &
1.65d0,1.95d0]
real(dp) :: vr0 = 458.75d0, vr1 = 570.d0 !Rated voltages
real(dp) a0_kv(n_a0), a1_kv(n_a1)
integer :: n_pl(2) = [n_a0,n_a1]
integer :: uid_gr = 1
character(len=12), parameter :: pl_scale(4) = ['Lin X, Lin Y','Log X, Lin Y','Lin X, Log Y','Log X, Log Y']
integer :: pl_scale_selected = 1
contains
integer function gui()
integer iw
a0_kv = a0_vpu*vr0 ; a1_kv = a1_vpu*vr1
iw = winio@('%mn[Exit]&','exit')
iw = winio@('%bg&',rgb@(220,220,220))
iw = winio@('%fn[Consolas]&')
iw = winio@('%ob&')
iw = winio@('%`gr[white]&',800,500,uid_gr)
iw = winio@('%`bg[white]%`^ls&',pl_scale,size(pl_scale,kind=3),pl_scale_selected,change_pl_scale_cb)
iw = winio@('%cb&')
iw = winio@('%sc&',change_pl_scale_cb)
iw = winio@('')
gui = 1
end function gui
integer function change_pl_scale_cb()
integer iw, i
integer :: uid_pl = 2
i = create_graphics_region@(uid_pl,800,500)
i = select_graphics_region@(uid_pl)
call winop@('%pl[native,n_graphs=2,gridlines,smoothing=5,frame]')
call winop@('%pl[x_array,independent]')
if (pl_scale_selected .eq. 2) call winop@('%pl[scale=linear_log]')
if (pl_scale_selected .eq. 3) call winop@('%pl[scale=log_linear]')
if (pl_scale_selected .eq. 4) call winop@('%pl[scale=log_log]')
call winop@('%pl[colour=red,symbol=1,tension=0.2]')
call winop@('%pl[colour=blue,symbol=1,tension=0.2]')
call winop@('%pl[width=2]')
call winop@('%pl[x_axis=Amps,y_axis=kV]')
iw = winio@('%pl[external]&',n_pl,a0_a,a0_kv,a1_a,a1_kv)
iw = winio@('')
i = copy_graphics_region@(uid_gr,1,1,800,500,uid_pl,1,1,800,500,13369376)
i = delete_graphics_region@(uid_pl)
change_pl_scale_cb = 1
end function change_pl_scale_cb
end module surge_arrester_mod
program main
use surge_arrester_mod
i = gui()
end program main |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Kenneth_Smith
Joined: 18 May 2012 Posts: 709 Location: Hamilton, Lanarkshire, Scotland.
|
Posted: Thu Aug 11, 2022 3:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
PS I�ve just noticed that when the �hard way� is compiled with WIN32 the exponent of the first two numbers on the x scale are missing for the log X case. This does not occur when compiled with X64. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
PaulLaidler Site Admin
Joined: 21 Feb 2005 Posts: 8011 Location: Salford, UK
|
Posted: Thu Aug 11, 2022 4:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ken
I will make a note and take a look at this.
Paul |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DanRRight
Joined: 10 Mar 2008 Posts: 2863 Location: South Pole, Antarctica
|
Posted: Thu Aug 11, 2022 10:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Paul,
I see Log and Linear options are missing in Designber's Mode Settings for the plot (i mean the Plot Parameters window which appear at the left hand upper corner when you add just one single line to the %PL like that:
Code: | CALL winop@("%pl[file=PlotParameters.set]") |
May be just adding 4 these Log/Lin options will solve this problem without any tricky programming like in these examples Ken became such a 80th level master at? All my latest %PL plots are in Designers Mode, it simplified %PL to its ultimate extreme to just couple lines of Fortran text, MATLAB nervously smocking outside.
Ken,
are you already using Designers Mode ? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
PaulLaidler Site Admin
Joined: 21 Feb 2005 Posts: 8011 Location: Salford, UK
|
Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2022 7:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
Dan
I suspect that this change would involve a lot of work for me with little or no benefit to the user. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Kenneth_Smith
Joined: 18 May 2012 Posts: 709 Location: Hamilton, Lanarkshire, Scotland.
|
Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2022 12:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Paul, thanks for taking the time to look at this. If Dan's suggestion is not possible, then I suspect that my suggestion is even harder for you. No problems, for this particular program the end user needs to be able to see the plots for both linear x and log x, so the "hard" way it shall be.
Dan, Yes I use Designer mode, although not as often as perhaps I should. Have you tried the relatively new SET_PLOT_MODE@ for %pl yet? Very powerful for even more customization of plots etc. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
PaulLaidler Site Admin
Joined: 21 Feb 2005 Posts: 8011 Location: Salford, UK
|
Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2022 1:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ken
I understand what Dan is asking for, whilst at the moment I am not clear about your request. I am working on something else at the moment (apart from enjoying our brief summer) so I aim to respond to your request sometime later. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Kenneth_Smith
Joined: 18 May 2012 Posts: 709 Location: Hamilton, Lanarkshire, Scotland.
|
Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2022 2:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
No problems Paul, I'll leave it with you for now but I suspect what I have suggested is a prerequisite for Dan's suggestion. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
PaulLaidler Site Admin
Joined: 21 Feb 2005 Posts: 8011 Location: Salford, UK
|
Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2022 10:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
Ken
I have had a look at this and it turns out to require a non-trivial change to ClearWin+. Some changes work (like linear to linear_log) but others fail.
I will leave this on my list and have another go at it later. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Kenneth_Smith
Joined: 18 May 2012 Posts: 709 Location: Hamilton, Lanarkshire, Scotland.
|
Posted: Wed Sep 07, 2022 8:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
Paul,
Thanks for taking the time to look at this. It is a pity that it would not be straightforward to implement. Perhaps, it is something for another day � as you suggest. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
PaulLaidler Site Admin
Joined: 21 Feb 2005 Posts: 8011 Location: Salford, UK
|
Posted: Wed Sep 07, 2022 8:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
Ken
It is working now. It just needed a night's sleep.
I plan to provide a new FTN95 and DLLs shortly.
This is what it will look like. Note the call to plot_redraw@ rather than simpleplot_redraw@.
Code: | integer function change_pl_scale_cb()
integer :: errstate
character(10) :: t
if(pl_scale_selected .eq. 1) t = "linear"
if(pl_scale_selected .eq. 2) t = "linear_log"
if(pl_scale_selected .eq. 3) t = "log_linear"
if(pl_scale_selected .eq. 4) t = "log_log"
errstate = change_plot_chr@(0,"scale",0,t)
call plot_redraw@()
change_pl_scale_cb = 2
end function change_pl_scale_cb
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Kenneth_Smith
Joined: 18 May 2012 Posts: 709 Location: Hamilton, Lanarkshire, Scotland.
|
Posted: Wed Sep 07, 2022 9:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
Paul,
That's brilliant, thank you for this addition. I hope it was not a restless sleep with your mind churning through the code for %pl. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
|