View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
DanRRight

Joined: 10 Mar 2008 Posts: 2777 Location: South Pole, Antarctica
|
Posted: Thu May 20, 2021 7:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
How you interrupted the run ? There is no small window which was present during the run the only purpose of which was to interrupt the run and get into debugger
Yes, Alt+X works |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
DanRRight

Joined: 10 Mar 2008 Posts: 2777 Location: South Pole, Antarctica
|
Posted: Thu May 20, 2021 11:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Oh, Alt+X behavior was changed? Alt+X closed debugger in the past. Now what in the past special small window was doing (interrupting the run) the Alt+X is doing? THIS SHOULD BE mentioned in the menu!!! Menu only says
"Alt+X - EXIT" |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Robert

Joined: 29 Nov 2006 Posts: 438 Location: Manchester
|
Posted: Fri May 21, 2021 1:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Press the pause button to stop your program. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
DietmarSiepmann
Joined: 03 Jun 2013 Posts: 279
|
Posted: Fri May 21, 2021 1:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
In my environment the look and feel and functionality of the debugger is different with respect to the compiler version and the property, if generating a 32 bit or a 64 bit version.
1. ftn95 version 7.10
Create and debug Dan's executable with ftn95 version 7.10, start the debugging session e.g. via F6 (continue); then after some time a dialog window with titlebar "Waiting" is shown and you may pass control back to the debugger by pressing the pause button of the dialog; this dialog does not appear when doing the same for ftn95 version 8.73 (in case of the 64 bit and the 32 bit situation).
2. ftn95 version 8.73
Building and debugging Dan's 32 bit executable with ftn95 version 8.73, then starting it via F6 and pressing ALT-X results in a dialog window with titlebar "Confirm Exit" with two buttons "Exit" and "Cancel". This dialog does not occur in the same situation if Dan's executable is built as a 64 bit executable and via ftn95 version 8.73; the debugger stops without showing this dialog.
I suggest that if builiding and debugging with ftn95 version 8.73, the dialogs missing should be displayed, as well, as is the case for ftn95 version 7.10.
Regards,
Dietmar |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
DanRRight

Joined: 10 Mar 2008 Posts: 2777 Location: South Pole, Antarctica
|
Posted: Fri May 21, 2021 8:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Robert,
What is pause button? There is no additional small dialog window where i remember was something like that. What i am saying above is that there is either the bug or the default behavior of debugger was changed as now to stop (pause) the run during the execution and fall into debugger i need to push Alt+X which in previous versions was used only to close debugger
Dietmar,
Exactly what i meant |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
DietmarSiepmann
Joined: 03 Jun 2013 Posts: 279
|
Posted: Tue May 25, 2021 9:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
For ftn95 version 7.10 after pressing F6 in the debug session with sdbg after some time a dialog window (with titlebar "Waiting" ) is displayed. This dialog window contains a push button with text "pause" and the text "The application being debugged is running. Control will return to the debugger when either a breakpoint or error occurs."
I thought this was exactly what Dan requested with
Quote: | How you interrupted the run ? There is no small window which was present during the run the only purpose of which was to interrupt the run and get into debugger | .
Unfortunately I do not see this dialog window for ftn95 environment 8.73 (32 bit case) and for ftn95 environment 8.10 (32 bit case which I checked this morning).
Regards
Dietmar |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
DanRRight

Joined: 10 Mar 2008 Posts: 2777 Location: South Pole, Antarctica
|
Posted: Tue May 25, 2021 9:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yes, this is what new SDBG is missing. If company decided to interrupt the run different way - this has to be clear in the menu
For example i can interrupt my programs with 1) Hot key 2) menu Run-Pause-Continue-Stop 3) Radiobutton 4) Similar little window like older debugger. All are convenient for different situations, and often you need to act quick. In earlier versions of Clearwin only 4th option was rock solid and always interrupted any code even if it froze. Currently i see all 4 work OK |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
DanRRight

Joined: 10 Mar 2008 Posts: 2777 Location: South Pole, Antarctica
|
Posted: Tue Jun 08, 2021 3:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
I think Alt+X is still not functioning like it was with 32bits. After you hit Alt+X SDBG closes debugged file but does not exit |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
DanRRight

Joined: 10 Mar 2008 Posts: 2777 Location: South Pole, Antarctica
|
Posted: Wed Jun 09, 2021 3:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
...and there still no way to stop the run in the middle and get into debugger - no appropriate window to pause run |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
DanRRight

Joined: 10 Mar 2008 Posts: 2777 Location: South Pole, Antarctica
|
Posted: Wed Jun 09, 2021 7:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
And still sometimes SDBG64 does not like some variables and does not list them in the window or expose their value in bubble help if you put the mouse cursor on it. So to see the value of variable1 i create another variable2 and this variable shows its value in bubble. Still both are not listed in the list of current variables in the debugger window
variable2 = variable1 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
DanRRight

Joined: 10 Mar 2008 Posts: 2777 Location: South Pole, Antarctica
|
Posted: Tue Jun 15, 2021 12:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
Did not check my code for couple years on /check /undef because SDBG64 was buggy before on this key combination and only like 9 months ago started to be mostly bug-free, not crashing by itself, showing the exact line with error and etcetc.
And spent 10 hours non-stop compiling-debugging-compiling-debugging-compiling-debugging cleaning mostly array violations i made during this time !
Use debuggers and /undef /check sometimes, people |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Robert

Joined: 29 Nov 2006 Posts: 438 Location: Manchester
|
Posted: Tue Jun 15, 2021 8:43 pm Post subject: Re: |
|
|
DanRRight wrote: | ...and there still no way to stop the run in the middle and get into debugger - no appropriate window to pause run |
The pause button stops your program (next to run). You can also place breakpoints whilst your program is running. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
DanRRight

Joined: 10 Mar 2008 Posts: 2777 Location: South Pole, Antarctica
|
Posted: Wed Jun 16, 2021 5:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks, Robert, Wow, a quarter of century i use SDBG and only today noticed this gray button thinking it was kind of useless separator Or it was added recently? Before Pause was done as a special window, to emphasize its importance. I mostly used keyboard shortcuts, they are more convenient than buttons, plus the menu reminds their definitions
I'd add Pause option to menu, all other buttons are doubled as menu items but not a Pause ! And made icons on these buttons more modern and bright. Or next user will try debugger and will think it lacks some major things for successful debugging and next time will try it like 25 years from now ! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Robert

Joined: 29 Nov 2006 Posts: 438 Location: Manchester
|
Posted: Wed Jun 16, 2021 9:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
The pause button was added when the separate dialog was removed. A menu entry would be a good idea too.
You may have noticed a floating 'dot' that tracks the cursor appears after the line numbers. If you click it the debugger should do a 'get to' that line. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
DanRRight

Joined: 10 Mar 2008 Posts: 2777 Location: South Pole, Antarctica
|
Posted: Thu Jun 17, 2021 5:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
So this dot is analog of "get to cursor" or F3? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|