forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index forums.silverfrost.com
Welcome to the Silverfrost forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

gFortran and MAKE
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index -> General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
PaulLaidler
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 5966
Location: Salford, UK

PostPosted: Sun May 26, 2019 6:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

John

Plato can be set to replace tabs with spaces as you type. There is also a macro to replace all existing tabs with spaces. In both cases you need a manual "Save" afterwards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DanRRight



Joined: 10 Mar 2008
Posts: 1997
Location: South Pole, Antarctica

PostPosted: Sun May 26, 2019 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried /TABS with Gfortran sources in a batch file and it did not perform well in some cases when compiled file also had INCLUDEd files. I used WIDE_SOURCES instead and all was compiled OK. Will make a demo reproducer hopefully quick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JohnCampbell



Joined: 16 Feb 2006
Posts: 2086
Location: Sydney

PostPosted: Sun May 26, 2019 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have had many attempts at correcting TAB characters in Fortran source code I have needed to fix.

My utilities include:
count_char.exe which counts all characters [1:255] that appear in a file
scan_file.exe which lists a text file identifying control characters and provides a character count.

PLATO does a good job of identifying tab characters, especially if "Show whitespace symbols" is enabled, but it does not remove the TAB characters and replace with the correct number of spaces

(my impression of ..) The best advice I can give is don't use tab characters in Fortran code.

Once you change the IDE, the info on tab positioning is lost.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulLaidler
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 5966
Location: Salford, UK

PostPosted: Mon May 27, 2019 8:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JohnCampbell

/TABS is missing from ftn95.chm and I have corrected this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index -> General All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group