forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index forums.silverfrost.com
Welcome to the Silverfrost forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

SetEnvironmentVariable

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index -> 64-bit
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
EKruck



Joined: 09 Jan 2010
Posts: 224
Location: Aalen, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2016 1:47 pm    Post subject: SetEnvironmentVariable Reply with quote

Running SetEnvironmentVariable with 32-bit version it works fine.
Running it with /64 I get the following run-time error:
Quote:
Within file SALFLIBC64.DLL
in MAKE_CSTRING@ at address af
Within file bOper64.EXE
in CB_BBMAN at address 183
Within file CLEARWIN64.DLL
In _permit_callback_in_window at 1E0
In _send_text_message at B61
In _yield_program_control at 342
In _winio at 1390
In WINDOW_PRINTF$$ at 10A
Within file bOper64.EXE
in BOPER at address 569

The parameters are the same in 32-bit version and are looking correct.
Any idea?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PaulLaidler
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 7923
Location: Salford, UK

PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2016 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We could run some tests on MAKE_CSTRING@ but it would help if you were able to:

a) provide the address in MAKE_CSTRING@ at the point of failure (i.e. provide more details from the trace back that you have outlined

b) provide a small sample program that generates the error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
EKruck



Joined: 09 Jan 2010
Posts: 224
Location: Aalen, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2016 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

here is my example:
Code:
!---------------------------------------------------------------------
    MODULE testData

    IMPLICIT NONE
    CHARACTER*32   cNewOP

    END MODULE testData
!---------------------------------------------------------------------
    PROGRAM test

    USE testData
    IMPLICIT NONE
    INTEGER  IRET
    INTEGER, EXTERNAL :: CB_BBman

    cNewOP = 'RITA'
    IRET = CB_BBman ()
    IRET = IRET

    END PROGRAM test
!---------------------------------------------------------------------
   INTEGER FUNCTION CB_BBman ()

   USE testData
   IMPLICIT NONE
   INCLUDE      <win32api.ins>
   INTEGER       lenOP, J
   LOGICAL       L

   lenOP  = LEN_TRIM(cNewOP)
   IF (lenOP .GE. 2) THEN
      L = SetEnvironmentVariable ('Bingo_Operator', cNewOP(1:lenOP))
      L = L
   ENDIF

!   J = START_PROCESS_AND_WAIT@ ('BBman', ' ', 0)
!   J = J

   CB_BBman = -1
   RETURN
   END FUNCTION CB_BBman
!---------------------------------------------------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PaulLaidler
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 7923
Location: Salford, UK

PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2016 10:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please download and try the new DLLs making sure to create a backup of the existing DLLs.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/mgg3yuaxd1ziz56/newDLLs3.zip?dl=0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
EKruck



Joined: 09 Jan 2010
Posts: 224
Location: Aalen, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2016 2:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The small test program is running, but the application not yet. I will go ahead with testing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
EKruck



Joined: 09 Jan 2010
Posts: 224
Location: Aalen, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2016 12:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Compilation of my application inside PLATO provides now:
    Compiling and linking file: bOper64.f90
    $ SALF
    [SLINK/Win32 v1.45 Copyright (c) Silverfrost Ltd. 1995-2013]
    *** Don't understand: SALF
    *** Compilation abandoned
    Compilation failed.

Before and behind each "SALF" are some unprintable signs.

Compiling and linking outside works ok, but the program crashes with Acces violation ... and
    Within file CLEARWIN64.DLL
    In _unlock at address B09
    In MAKE_CSTRING$ at address 4B
    Within file boper64.exe
    in CB_BBMAN in line 6331, at address 10c
    Within file CLEARWIN64.DLL
    In _send_text_message at address B41
    In _yield_program_control at address 342
    In _winio at address 1390
    In WINDOW_PRINTF$$ at address 10A
    Within file boper64.exe
    in BOPER in line 3541, at address 548

However, the program has only 213 lines.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PaulLaidler
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 7923
Location: Salford, UK

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 10:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This probably won't be relevant but a bug has been identified that occurs when users have 32GB or more of RAM installed. Users who have 32GB or more RAM will need a new salflibc64.dll.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
EKruck



Joined: 09 Jan 2010
Posts: 224
Location: Aalen, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 10:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I have 64GB RAM installed. My salflibc64.dll is dated 06.09.2016. Is that already the latest one?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PaulLaidler
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 7923
Location: Salford, UK

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No. I will need to upload a new salflibc64.dll.
I may not be able to do this before tomorrow morning.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
PaulLaidler
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 7923
Location: Salford, UK

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2016 6:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is a link for downloading a new set of DLLs. Please don't forget to backup the current DLLs before copying the new ones.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/v21409mvk4tqpum/newDLLs4.zip?dl=0

In fact the bug that has just been fixed relates to RAM sizes greater than 32GB (not 32GB or more as stated above).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
EKruck



Joined: 09 Jan 2010
Posts: 224
Location: Aalen, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2016 7:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It works fine now! javascript:emoticon('Very Happy')
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index -> 64-bit All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group