forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index forums.silverfrost.com
Welcome to the Silverfrost forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

64-bit and .NET
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index -> 64-bit
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gperiskic



Joined: 18 Dec 2009
Posts: 34
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2016 9:15 am    Post subject: 64-bit and .NET Reply with quote

Hi,

does the new 64-bit compiler produces .NET assemblies as well or is it limited to standard executables? Or in other words: can I produce a 64-bit .NET 4.0 assembly with FTN95?

Regards,
Goran
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PaulLaidler
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 7912
Location: Salford, UK

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2016 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FTN95 has not been adapted to produce 64 bit .NET assemblies.
The work on porting to standard 64 bit Windows is still ongoing and there are other pressing issues that probably need to be addressed after that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
gperiskic



Joined: 18 Dec 2009
Posts: 34
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2019 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any update on 64-bit .NET assemblies?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PaulLaidler
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 7912
Location: Salford, UK

PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2019 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are currently no plans to extend FTN95 in order to provide for 64 bit .NET assemblies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
gperiskic



Joined: 18 Dec 2009
Posts: 34
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 2:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What exactly is not supported? We managed to get our .Net dll work in 64-bit by removing the "32-bit Machine" file flag after the compilation. The results of the calculation performed with the 64-bit version are the same as with 32-bit.
I only found out the the TRY-CATCH block causes crashes in 64-bit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Robert



Joined: 29 Nov 2006
Posts: 444
Location: Manchester

PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you do file I/O?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DanRRight



Joined: 10 Mar 2008
Posts: 2813
Location: South Pole, Antarctica

PostPosted: Fri Sep 06, 2019 1:27 am    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

gperiskic wrote:
What exactly is not supported? We managed to get our .Net dll work in 64-bit
hahaha...hacks!

We also for two decades were running parallel simulations using FTN77 /95 with LIB libraries created in other companies Fortran compilers despite the LIB formally were not supported....also hacks! Something was worked something not but that was enough. Only recently 100% compatible solution was found by using DLL, thanks to mecej4 for the implementation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulLaidler
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 7912
Location: Salford, UK

PostPosted: Fri Sep 06, 2019 8:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gperiskic

I am surprised that you have .NET FTN95 working for 64 bits.

One limitation of 32 bit .NET FTN95 is that applications normally call into salflibc.dll and this won't work for 64 bits. So your application must be unusual in this respect at least.

After that, your experience implies that the assembly code produced by FTN95 and DBK_LINKx works equally well for 64 bits. This, in one sense, is as it ought to be but never-the-less is quite remarkable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
gperiskic



Joined: 18 Dec 2009
Posts: 34
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Sep 06, 2019 8:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, we didn't really hack anything, just removed the flag as mentioned above.
We use classes from C# to define the input/output interface and pass them directly to the fortran assembly, without any i/o disk operations. The fortran assembly is performing various mathematical analysis, without any graphical work.
So it makes me wonder that you claim that 64-bit is not supported in NET at all.
Exactly the same is valid for my question regarding .NET Core support - even here we managed to get it work, just had to compile without salflibc...

@Paul: we compile with /NO_SALFLIBC switch and subsequently remove the 32-bit flag - this works both for 64-bit and NET Core.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PaulLaidler
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 7912
Location: Salford, UK

PostPosted: Fri Sep 06, 2019 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gperiskic

That is encouraging. Can you provide details of how to remove the 32 bit flag.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
gperiskic



Joined: 18 Dec 2009
Posts: 34
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Sep 06, 2019 8:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure...
Either use "dnSpy" (go to FileHeader and unklick "32-Bit Machine") or use Microsoft CorFlags.exe (call 'corflags myAssembly.dll /32BIT-' from command prompt).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Robert



Joined: 29 Nov 2006
Posts: 444
Location: Manchester

PostPosted: Fri Sep 06, 2019 8:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dbk_link explicitly puts that flag on to force the assembly to 32-bit. If it didn't then .NET could load it in 64-bit mode and any calls to salflibc would break the system. As I recall one of reasons we chose not to go down the 64-bit .Net route was that it didn't support arrays larger than 32-bits.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gperiskic



Joined: 18 Dec 2009
Posts: 34
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Sep 06, 2019 8:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Robert - you mean that if a single array needs more then 4 GB memory then it doesn't work.?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Robert



Joined: 29 Nov 2006
Posts: 444
Location: Manchester

PostPosted: Fri Sep 06, 2019 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes. The limit used to be 2GB for arrays. This looks like it has changed at .NET 4.5 but there is still a 31-bit limit on array indexes.

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/dotnet/framework/configure-apps/file-schema/runtime/gcallowverylargeobjects-element
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gperiskic



Joined: 18 Dec 2009
Posts: 34
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Sep 06, 2019 9:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, thanks Robert, this is good to know. We don't have such large arrays, but I'll keep this in mind.
Anything else? As mentioned before, a try-catch block (for exceptions catching) works fine with 32-bit but crashes with 64-bit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index -> 64-bit All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group