forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index forums.silverfrost.com
Welcome to the Silverfrost forums

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Can't find declaration of local array.
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index -> General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Tenobaal88

PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:14 pm    Post subject: Can't find declaration of local array. Reply with quote

Hi, I'm new to FORTRAN and struggling with the following subroutine.
There's an array "INDU" used in the subroutine "INVERS". I can't find the declaration of INDU in the code. I searched the whole programm but INDU only appears in subroutine "INVERS", so it can't be a global variable.
The FTN95 debugger says "Variable Unknown" when try to read the elements of the array. Nevertheless, the array INDU is used in the subroutine.
Please help me to understand whats going on here.

Code:

SUBROUTINE INVERS(NGL,NUGL,MAX,MAXUGL,ME0,DIAG,SPG,LUGL,MAT,
     *                 VEK,KOL,END,X,MAT0,VEK0,END0)

IMPLICIT REAL*8(A-H,O-Z)
C
      COMMON /WINDOW/ WIN3
      COMMON /IODEF / VERSIO,NTEST,IKART,NLIST,ND1,INET,NNET,NPLOT,
     ,                NUEPL
C
      REAL*8    DIAG(1),MAT(1),VEK(1),X(1)
      REAL*8    MAT0(1),VEK0(1),SPG(1)
      LOGICAL   LUGL(1)
C
      INTEGER   KOL(1),END(1),END0(1)
      CHARACTER*10 TE

C Where is INDU declared???
      INDU(IZ,IS)=(IZ-1)*NUGL+IS

C .... additional code where INDU is used
mecej4

PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2014 4:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Indu is not an array; it is what is called a "statement function". There is less confusion when statement functions take other than integer arguments.

INDU seems intended to map a subscript pair to a single offset into an array.
Wilfried Linder