forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index forums.silverfrost.com
Welcome to the Silverfrost forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Fortran dll not running Win 7 32 bit Visual Studio

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index -> Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MDRhodes



Joined: 28 Mar 2014
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2014 5:22 pm    Post subject: Fortran dll not running Win 7 32 bit Visual Studio Reply with quote

I have an application built with Visual Studio 2010 and SilverFrost Fortran 95. The C# shell calls several Fortran 95 dll files. The compiled application runs fine on any 64 bit machine running either Windows 7 or Windows 8, but when I try to run it on a 32 bit machine running Windows 7, it crashes when any Fortran dll is accessed. The error message is:

Unhandled exception has occurred in your application.
The type initializer for "Fitter" threw an exception.


"Fitter" is one of the Fortran dlls.

Has anyone else experienced this problem? Any ideas on how I can fix this so it will also run on 32 bit machines?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Robert



Joined: 29 Nov 2006
Posts: 274
Location: Manchester

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2014 9:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is strange. The opposite can happen, where on a 64-bit machine a 64-bit .NET process tries to use a 32-bit FTN95 DLL. Are the .NET versions the same?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MDRhodes



Joined: 28 Mar 2014
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2014 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, the .NET version is 4.5 on both computers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Robert



Joined: 29 Nov 2006
Posts: 274
Location: Manchester

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2014 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you able to send us an example to try?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MDRhodes



Joined: 28 Mar 2014
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2014 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes. Here is a DropBox link to the installation file for the program as well as an input file.

install file: https://www.dropbox.com/s/w3eg2ac19f13exo/Install%20WinFitter%202.0.exe

input file: https://www.dropbox.com/s/tnfs6fq5mrpdvbb/XYUMa-Vband-run1.dat

Once the Fitter program is installed, select "Run Fitter" from the menu bar. It will open a directory dialog. Select the provided input file XYUma-VBand-run1.dat.

With a 64 bit machine, it should run and produce four output files with the same file name, but with the extensions .out, .obs, .mod and .dif.

With a 32 bit machine, it will produce the error message I indicated in my initial post.

Thanks for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index -> Support All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group