forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index forums.silverfrost.com
Welcome to the Silverfrost forums

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Future of Windows + Fortran?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index -> General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Mike Cheek

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2012 4:33 pm    Post subject: Future of Windows + Fortran? Reply with quote

Folks,

On a very part time basis I've been converting an old MSDOS fortran program of mine to Silverfrost. 33,000 lines of fortran. It's now successfully compiling and at least launches and starts to run in a Windows 7 console box. No issues really with the fortran part.

Bear in mind I have a full time day job and family, so my off hours programming time is limited. But I am a chemical engineer and this program I wrote many years ago amazingly still has relevance and addresses a little niche problem that no one else seems to address very well. It is my judgment it still has value, and thus I am working on it, catch as catch can.

Once I get the fortran running, I originally thought I would develop a WinForm wraparound. Then they came out with WPF and I thought maybe I should learn XAML although people advise it has a steep learning curve. Now of course they're coming out with VS Studio 2012 and apparently they are de-emphasizing even XAML and WPF. This is all a bit confusing and discouraging to me, as I'm sure it is to many of you.