forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index forums.silverfrost.com
Welcome to the Silverfrost forums

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Beginner: Help urgently wanted!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index -> Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
farfleet.orangehome.co.uk

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 8:29 am    Post subject: Beginner: Help urgently wanted! Reply with quote

From a complete beginner. I have used Fortran on main-frames since 1963, professionally. Now, in retirement, I want to use it on my PC (non-professionally).
I have downloaded and installed FTN95, apparently successfully. What do I do next? I downloaded the FTN95 user guide (help file), but it won't open. Do I need Windows Visual Studio 2005 to proceed? I have absolutely no clue what to do next. Any help greatly appreciated

Farfleet
IanLambley

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

No you don't need Visual Studio, you can simply open up the FTN95 DOS window which should be one of the Silverfrost commands available. Locate your directory containg your code, in .FOR files for example. For the complete code in one file, type:
ftn95 myfile.for/fixed/zeroise/save/list/nowindows/link

and the executable should apper

try

ftn95/?

to give help on the switches.

For the help file, locate ftn95.chm and double click it.

For multi-file linking, compile as above without the /link switch.
Create a text file (say linkfile) containing a list of object files to be loaded, e.g.

lo myfile1
lo myfile2
lo myfile3
file myexe

link with:

slink linkfile

For more advanced usage, investigate Plato the integrated development environment.

Regards

Ian
PaulLaidler
Site Admin

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote