forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index forums.silverfrost.com
Welcome to the Silverfrost forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Problems about ALLOCATING arrays

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index -> Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
neoandyson



Joined: 05 Mar 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 5:55 pm    Post subject: Problems about ALLOCATING arrays Reply with quote

Hi there,
I tried to allocate the size of an array using 'allocatable' and 'allocate', for example as follows:

Program allo
implicit none

integer, allocatable :: L(:,Smile
integer :: m,n

allocate (L(2,2))

L(1,1) = 0; L(1,2) = 1; L(2,1) = 2; L(2,2) = 4

do m = 1,2
do n = 1,2
print*,L(m,n)
enddo
enddo

end program

On my laptop, it works fine. On the PC in my office, it doesn't, and it always give me an error message saying:

Salford run-time library.
Insufficent memory available for CHECK mode
Fatal run-time error

I just wonder why it is not working on my PC, as it is very basic and important that we are able to allocate the size of any array.
Will be grateful if anyone can explain to me what is wrong.

Thank you very much,
Neoandyson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulLaidler
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 7926
Location: Salford, UK

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It could be that your copy of salflibc.dll has got corrupted or there may be something odd about your operating system.

1. Try re-installing (salflibc.dll in particular)

2. What is your OS (is it supported by FTN95)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
neoandyson



Joined: 05 Mar 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My OS is Windows XP Professional x64 Edition Version 2003 Service Pack 2

Neoandyson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulLaidler
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 7926
Location: Salford, UK

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do not know if anyone has run FTN95 successfully on a 64bit operating system. It is a 32bit compiler that may or may not run under WOW on a 64bit system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
JohnHorspool



Joined: 26 Sep 2005
Posts: 270
Location: Gloucestershire UK

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been running the same OS as neoandyson for a couple of months now, and apart from one little quirk with clearwin+ which ran perfectly under XP32 but not under XP64 and required a minor re-write, I've had no other problems.

In fact I tested FTN95 with my rather poor FE solver (which is pure fortran - no clearwin+) against the 64bit version of gfortran, ie. 32bit code versus 64bit code, and the 32bit FTN95 compiled version was significantly faster !

Neoandyson's code should compile and run fine without the check option.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Robert



Joined: 29 Nov 2006
Posts: 445
Location: Manchester

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

FTN95 runs successfully on Vista 64. The WOW64 layer is very good (it has to be, virtually all Microsoft software is 32-bit)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index -> Support All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group