View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
DanRRight
Joined: 10 Mar 2008 Posts: 2867 Location: South Pole, Antarctica
|
Posted: Tue Jul 16, 2024 9:02 pm Post subject: SDBG and huge arrays |
|
|
I suggest to look at this new problem which started to appear recently in the age of so called Big Data. When using larger and larger arrays in the programs one thing started to annoy when you run the code via SDBG/SDBG64: you start to wait more and more for the debugger to allocate and fill such arrays. Even if the debugger not just allocates but also sets the specific values for the arrays to catch the undefined variables i suspect that there is something not optimized there if you wait for the times like ~3 minutes to fill 500GB array, may be I am wrong but my feelings are that there are no hardware limitations for being that slow |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Robert
Joined: 29 Nov 2006 Posts: 450 Location: Manchester
|
Posted: Wed Jul 17, 2024 10:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
Do you mean the debugger or the program you are running? The debuggers do not do anything (much) to your program and certainly do not fill any of your arrays. If you have large arrays and use an option like /undef then they will be filled at run-time...that is just the cost of using the checking facilities.
Do you have 500GB arrays? How much RAM do you have? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DanRRight
Joined: 10 Mar 2008 Posts: 2867 Location: South Pole, Antarctica
|
Posted: Wed Jul 17, 2024 10:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I understand that when using /check and /undef you have to expect slowing down the program execution. But filling the arrays is different matter. I am pondering can it be done much faster ? May be by using multi-threading specifically for that as with the single processor it is probably impossible to speed it up
You get very quickly annoyed when debugging you lose 20 times per day these 3 minutes each program launch. This reminds me older times when compiling you launch the card deck reader, take couple cigarettes, go outside and when return it is still not done
Yes, i have 512GB RDRAM and with the big worry looking for the future when it will be 1.5 TB this motherboard supports. All my workday will be just waiting for program to load |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DanRRight
Joined: 10 Mar 2008 Posts: 2867 Location: South Pole, Antarctica
|
Posted: Sun Sep 22, 2024 9:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
On Frontier, the #1 supercomputer in the world, the requests for computer time started to appear in my area of interests with allocations 5-7 Petabytes of RAM. Last year they were around 1 PB and I thought it is a bit too much. This year the committee even did not notice this number.
That would take me to load such task into SDBG for the debugging for 30000 minutes or 21 day |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|