forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index forums.silverfrost.com
Welcome to the Silverfrost forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Character value gets lost

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index -> Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
simon



Joined: 05 Jul 2006
Posts: 268

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2023 11:28 pm    Post subject: Character value gets lost Reply with quote

The following program may be eligible for an award for the most weird and useless nonsense, but it generates an incorrect result when compiled with /FULL_DEBUG. The program is on the long side, but I have tried hard to simplify it, and it seems that with almost any change, the problem disappears.

The program (in the first code segment) calls a subroutine s1, which is supposed to copy the value of getsLost into ctest, but ctest prints as blank. The module is broken into two halves because it is apparently too long. Subroutine s1 performs a set of apparently meaningless operations, calling functions and subroutines most of which do essentially nothing, but somehow they combine to lose the value of getsLost. All the code between lines 32 (starting immediately after the "Do nothing meaningful" comment) and 76 (immediately before the "Try to use the value of getsLost" comment) has no intentional logic - it is purely what is left after a very long process of reducing a much larger programme to a minimum. There are many obvious ways to simplify this section of the code, but not, I have found, without making the error disappear.

I have the same problem occurring without using /FULL_DEBUG, but it will be a large task to try to isolate that. I am hoping the problem can be identified using this example.

Code:
Program p
   Use m
   Integer                         :: i1
   Logical                         :: l1
   Character(Len= 2)               :: getsLost = '?'
   Character(Len=64), Dimension(2) :: cs1, cs2
!
   i1 = 3
   t3%i1 = 1
   t3%i2 = 2
   t3%i3 = 3
   Call s1 (getsLost, cs1, cs2, l1, i1)
   Print*, ctest
End Program p
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
simon



Joined: 05 Jul 2006
Posts: 268

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2023 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Module part 1:

Code:
Module m
!
   Type t
      Integer :: i1
      Integer :: i2
      Integer :: i3
   End Type t
   Interface Operator(<)
      Module Procedure f1
   End Interface
!
   Integer          :: i3 = 1
   Integer          :: i4 = 1
   Character(Len=2) :: c1, ctest
   Logical          :: l2
   Type(t)          :: t1, t2, t3
!
Contains
!
 Subroutine s1 (getsLost, cs1, cs2, l1, i1, &
            i2, is1, is2, at)
   Integer                                  :: i1
   Character(Len=*)                         :: getsLost
   Character(Len=*), Dimension(:)           :: cs1, cs2
   Logical                                  :: l1
!
   Integer,                        Optional :: i2
   Type(t),                        Optional :: at
   Integer,          Dimension(:), Optional :: is1, is2
!
! Do nothing meaningful
   If (Present(i2)) Then
      l2 = (i2 > 0)
   Else
      l2 = .false.
   End If
   l1 = Present(i2)
   i3 = Count([l1, l2])
   c1 = f2(i3,  1, i4)
   c1 = f2(i3,  1, i4) ! - needs to be repeated -
   l2 = (c1 == ' ')
   t1%i1 = 1
   t1%i2 = 1
   t1%i3 = 1
   t2%i1 = i1
   t2%i2 = i1
   t2%i3 = 1
   Call s2 (i3*i4, t2)
   If (i3 < i1) Then
      i3 = i4
      If (Present(i2)) i2 = 2
   End If
   i3 = t2%i1
   If (Present(at)) Then
      If (at%i2 < 1) Then
         at%i1 = t3%i1
         at%i2 = t3%i2 + at%i2
         at%i3 = 1
         Do
            If (at%i2 < 0) Exit
            at%i2 = at%i2 + 1
            at%i1 = at%i1 - 1
         End Do
      End If
      If (t2 < t1) i4 = 2
   End If
   Select Case (i4)
    Case (1)
      If (l1) Then
         i4 = i1
      Else
         i4 = i1
      End If
    Case Default
      i4 = i1
   End Select
! Try to use the value of getsLost
   ctest = f0(getsLost, i4, l2, .false.)
   Return
!
 Contains
!
  Character(Len=256) Function f0(getsLost, i, l1, l2)
   Integer          :: i
   Character(Len=*) :: getsLost
   Logical          :: l1, l2
   f0 = Trim(getsLost)
  End Function f0
 End Subroutine s1
!


Module part 2:

Code:
 Subroutine s2 (i, d)
   Integer  :: i
   Type(t) :: d
   Return
 End Subroutine s2
!
 Logical Function f1(t1, t2)
   Type(t), Intent(In) :: t1, t2
   f1 = .false.
 End Function f1
!
 Character Function f2(i1, i2, i3)
   Integer :: i1, i2, i3
   f2 = ' '
 End Function f2
End Module m
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
simon



Joined: 05 Jul 2006
Posts: 268

PostPosted: Wed Mar 01, 2023 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I appreciate that this example was not ideal, but I'm wondering whether Silverfrost had any thoughts about it. I am trying to construct a URL that is used to download some data, but because of the bug, part of the URL gets lost. And without having a clearer sense of what is wrong in the example, I do not know how to code a work-around. The code works perfectly ok with other compilers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulLaidler
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 7912
Location: Salford, UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 02, 2023 8:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Simon

I am sorry but I missed your initial post on Jan 5th.

I will take a look at your code as soon as possible.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
PaulLaidler
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 7912
Location: Salford, UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 02, 2023 2:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Simon

As far as I can see, your code works correctly except for Win32 when using /FULL_DEBUG and no other debugging options such as /CHECK.

It can be fixed in this particular context by initialising "getslost" in a runtime assignment instead of in its declaration.

/FULL_DEBUG is like /DEBUG but it allows you to view PARAMETERs when debugging. It serves no purpose in this context because there are no PARAMETERs in the code.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
simon



Joined: 05 Jul 2006
Posts: 268

PostPosted: Thu Mar 02, 2023 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Paul. I made a few changes, which seem to have fixed the problem in 8.96. I will aim to provide a better example if the problem reappears without /FULL_DEBUG
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index -> Support All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group