forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index forums.silverfrost.com
Welcome to the Silverfrost forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Visual Studio Problems

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index -> General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Hicham



Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Location: TX, USA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2007 7:35 am    Post subject: Visual Studio Problems Reply with quote

Hi
Can anyone show me how I can actually RUN my program [.exe file] that I generate after building my code under WIN32 environment using VS05? I know that is easily done from the command line, or in PLATO, but it seems it not the same in VS05. I tried using the COMMAND WINDOW by sending its output to the OUTPUT WINDOW PANE, but was getting some error message.

Thanks
_________________
Hicham
Good Things Take Time!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulLaidler
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 7916
Location: Salford, UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2007 8:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The usual way is via F5 or Ctrl+F5 or by selecting an item in the Debug menu. I am not sure if Visual Studio provides a pause when the program has finished. If not then you can either put PAUSE in your code or run the program from your own Command Prompt window.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Hicham



Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Location: TX, USA

PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 1:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you please show me an example of how to embed PAUSE within a program? I tried searching the FTN help menu for PAUSE, but got no hits.

Thanks
_________________
Hicham
Good Things Take Time!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulLaidler
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 7916
Location: Salford, UK

PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

PAUSE is a standard Fortran statement (I think it has been there from the beginning). Optionally it can be followed by a literal character string.

It should be placed after the last execuable statement for each path in your code.

PROGRAM main
PRINT*,"Hello world"
PAUSE "Press any key to continue"
END
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index -> General All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group