forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index forums.silverfrost.com
Welcome to the Silverfrost forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

UNDEF

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index -> Plato
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
stfark1



Joined: 02 Sep 2008
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2018 5:01 pm    Post subject: UNDEF Reply with quote

RUNNING SILVERFROST FORTRAN, WHEN INTERUPPTED IN PAST, GOT LINE NUMBER IN THE FORTAN PROGRAM WHERE THE INTERRUPT OCCURED. NOW GETTING "REFERENCE TO UNDEFINED VARIABLE, ARRAY, ELEMENT OR FUNCTION 00422000 MAIN#(+C765)", PROBABLY HAVE A PROJECT ELEMENT TURNED ON OR OFF BUT NOT SURE. ANY HELP WOULD BE APPRECIATED. THANKS, SID KRAFT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulLaidler
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 5496
Location: Salford, UK

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2018 6:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sid

If you have /checkmate switch on then you should also get the line number where the failure occured. Anyway, if you run your program via the debugger then it will fail at the line where the "undef" error occurs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stfark1



Joined: 02 Sep 2008
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2018 8:31 pm    Post subject: Fortran Line Pointer Reply with quote

Paul: Have following set checkmate on, compiler options:
-output profile info
-debug info
-checking code
-check undefined variable
-full checking code
-full debug information
-array bounds checking

Getting line numbers listed in compiler output. Yet, still get the error stated and not a line number when interrupt??? Not sure why I am not getting, any ideas? Sid Kraft
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulLaidler
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 5496
Location: Salford, UK

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2018 9:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sid

Are you using the debugger to step through your code?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stfark1



Joined: 02 Sep 2008
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2018 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Paul: Good call, I had checkmate denoted before I started rather than debug, works fine now, Thanks, Sid
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulLaidler
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 5496
Location: Salford, UK

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2018 11:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sid

I think that you have missed the point. If your program runs with /debug and not with /undef then there is one or more errors in your code. Variables are being used before they have been given a value.

You should use /undef (or /checkmate which is roughly the same) and step through the code by using the debugger called SDBG until an error is reported. This will tell you which variables need to be given a value before they are used.

SDBG can be started from Plato or by runing SDBG.exe from a command line or directly from Windows Explorer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index -> Plato All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group