forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index forums.silverfrost.com
Welcome to the Silverfrost forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Debugger problem with F6 and F7 keys

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index -> General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DanRRight



Joined: 10 Mar 2008
Posts: 2813
Location: South Pole, Antarctica

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 1:14 pm    Post subject: Debugger problem with F6 and F7 keys Reply with quote

Both 32 and 64 bit SDBG have the same problem when you use F6 and F7 keys to step one step in debugging. After few such use the right hand menu (the one which appears when you right click on the source code in debugger) appears at every movement of the mouse and it becomes almost impossible to debug. I reported that before, but thought 64bit will avoid this. Now i started heavily use SDBG64 and find that the bug is still here. Based on that i now very much suspect that vast majority of people do not use debuggers preferring to use neanderthal's methods of Print*.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulLaidler
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 7916
Location: Salford, UK

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe just a typing error but F7 and F8 are for single stepping.
Do you get this problem with F7 and F8? I have not been able to reproduce this effect.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
DanRRight



Joined: 10 Mar 2008
Posts: 2813
Location: South Pole, Antarctica

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 2:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use F6 and F7 and F3 mostly, never F8.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulLaidler
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 7916
Location: Salford, UK

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to be clear, F6 is for "Continue", F7 is for "Step into" and F6 is for "Step over".

Does the problem arise when only F6 or only F7 is used?
Does it only arise when using the function keys as opposed to the toolbar or the menu?

As I say, I can't reproduce this at the moment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
DanRRight



Joined: 10 Mar 2008
Posts: 2813
Location: South Pole, Antarctica

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, i mostly use F6 and F7 and do not use toolbar or menu when this error appears. I also rightclick on variables to see their content and keep their windows open doing further debug.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Robert



Joined: 29 Nov 2006
Posts: 444
Location: Manchester

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Once it happens, does the menu popup over every window?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DanRRight



Joined: 10 Mar 2008
Posts: 2813
Location: South Pole, Antarctica

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 5:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, it pops over main source window with smallest movement of mouse.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Robert



Joined: 29 Nov 2006
Posts: 444
Location: Manchester

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does it pop up over the variables and call stack windows if you move your mouse there?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DanRRight



Joined: 10 Mar 2008
Posts: 2813
Location: South Pole, Antarctica

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No if I move mouse to the gray area in the top of the source window then the right mouse menu does not pop out. But for that I have to hit ESC first. This is usually how I try to relatively amicably finish the debug session which went out of control. Still nothing works to stop that behavior and I need to start debugger again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Robert



Joined: 29 Nov 2006
Posts: 444
Location: Manchester

PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2017 8:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you get the PM about a test build of sdbg64?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DanRRight



Joined: 10 Mar 2008
Posts: 2813
Location: South Pole, Antarctica

PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2017 10:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, got it, thanks, will do the bug tracing asap
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DanRRight



Joined: 10 Mar 2008
Posts: 2813
Location: South Pole, Antarctica

PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2017 9:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Robert, Paul,

OK, i have ran your SDBG64, got the LOG file and will send it in email in a moment.

It is very easy to reproduce the problem following these steps

1) Start the debugger
2) Mark some source line pushing the key F2 to stop the code on it when it will run
3) Start the code with key F6
4) When code stops on marked line right click on some variable. This will open new window with this variable content
4') click on some other variable same way to display its content too (this step may not be needed, but i have done it in the LOG file)
5) push F7 to continue code one step
6) just move mouse on some other place in the source window
7) push F7 again and you will see the right mouse button menu window will open at mouse position

Repeat steps 6 and 7 many times and you will see many instances of the problem. Now whatever you do with F6 or F7 keys or Up and Down arrow keys this spurious right mouse button menu window will jump into your face with each movement of the mouse in between these F keys pushes.

Annoying menu window will not appear if the mouse is off the source window completely but then without mouse the debugger becomes useless
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DanRRight



Joined: 10 Mar 2008
Posts: 2813
Location: South Pole, Antarctica

PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2017 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like the item 4' (to open one more window with variable content) has to be present
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DanRRight



Joined: 10 Mar 2008
Posts: 2813
Location: South Pole, Antarctica

PostPosted: Mon Dec 25, 2017 7:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

These spurious right mouse button menu at every movement of mouse after hitting F7 or F6 happen when two windows showing variables content are open using right mouse click on variable. When both of them are closed the debugging returns to normal. But if you open any such window again the bug will be continuing its harassment

So the reproducing of this bug becomes even simpler: just right click on couple variables and continue debug process moving step-by-step with F7. In between just hover mouse over the source window and you will see the right mouse menu jumping on top without reason
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DanRRight



Joined: 10 Mar 2008
Posts: 2813
Location: South Pole, Antarctica

PostPosted: Mon Jan 01, 2018 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Happy NY !
Ooops, Pooh thought that a fish is very easy to catch...Of curiosity i tried to reproduce bug on a small few lines demo code but in this case this devilry did not expose itself. Not surprising no one reported and developers did not reproduce it so far. Will try another more complex reproducer with Clearwin+ controls.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index -> General All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group