forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index forums.silverfrost.com
Welcome to the Silverfrost forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Find Variables That Exist Multiple Times

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index -> Plato
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
viroxa



Joined: 28 Jul 2017
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 3:22 pm    Post subject: Find Variables That Exist Multiple Times Reply with quote

Hello, everyone,

is there a way to extract variables that exist multiple times within a routine?

For example, because they are stored as global variables but were passed as arguments as well?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulLaidler
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 4920
Location: Salford, UK

PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't understand the question. Are you looking for a search feature in the Plato source code editor or some feature in the FTN95 compiler?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
viroxa



Joined: 28 Jul 2017
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A compiler feature. Some sort of notification that there are multiple instances of the same variable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LitusSaxonicum



Joined: 23 Aug 2005
Posts: 1654
Location: Yateley, Hants, UK

PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you keep your subprograms short, say a couple of hundred lines max, you ought to be able to find particular variables scanning by eye alone. Most editors also have a 'find' and 'find next' - Plato does, but the Edit menu only appears when you have a source code file open. Plato doesn't provide line numbers in the source code window (I think) but the current line number is shown in the status line, and you can note this if you want.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
viroxa



Joined: 28 Jul 2017
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Right now I'm using the debugger, because in the "Variables" window it's easier to see, than by looking over the code itself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulLaidler
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 4920
Location: Salford, UK

PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

/xref on the FTN95 command line might help.

Plato does have line numbers available in the left margin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index -> Plato All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group