forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index forums.silverfrost.com
Welcome to the Silverfrost forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

plato - start run command

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index -> Plato
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
david_hoyle



Joined: 13 Oct 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 11:50 am    Post subject: plato - start run command Reply with quote

Hi,

I am editing code in Plato (ftn95) - the code compiles successfully, but I can't start the run (ctrl + F5) - everything used to work and i haven't changed any settings.

What happens is the run Window flashes up and then instantly disappears.

can anyone help?

thanks

Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulLaidler
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 4775
Location: Salford, UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 12:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check to make sure that the executable is created and try running it from a command line in "Command Prompt" window.

If you need help with either of these steps then ask again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
david_hoyle



Joined: 13 Oct 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, so the program runs from the command line fine.

i guess thats a solution to my problem, buts its really annoying for my work. Is there anyway to fix this issue?

Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LitusSaxonicum



Joined: 23 Aug 2005
Posts: 1598
Location: Yateley, Hants, UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

David,

It does what you told it to do - it runs and finishes. In the command prompt window you see various other messages which hang around after your program finished. If you want it not to finish and close its window when run from Plato, put something in your code to prevent it closing, like a PAUSE statement.

Or, declare it to be WINAPP, include <WINDOWS.INS>, and put this code at the bottom of your program just before EXIT or END (whichever you use).

I=WINIO@('%ca[Demo]Run finished%nl%bt[Close]')

If you are using the Personal Edition and you use the LGO option, then you don't see the 6-second nag screen ..

Eddie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
david_hoyle



Joined: 13 Oct 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for the suggestion Litus,

however, it used to just run from the plato window - I have tried uninstalling, and re-installing. but with no success.

The debugging window works, just not the standard run.

Any advice please?

Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LitusSaxonicum



Joined: 23 Aug 2005
Posts: 1598
Location: Yateley, Hants, UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll have a think.

Eddie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
david_hoyle



Joined: 13 Oct 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks Eddie, much appreciated,

Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulLaidler
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 4775
Location: Salford, UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Assuming that you are creating a "Console" application, try running a simple "Hello World" program to see if that works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
david_hoyle



Joined: 13 Oct 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

thanks for the reply,

the "hello world" program does the same thing.

many thanks,

Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulLaidler
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 4775
Location: Salford, UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2014 8:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For console applications, Plato uses a "Control break handler" and appends the message "Press RETURN to close window..." after your output.

Make sure that you do not press RETURN.

Try putting a PAUSE in your Fortran code to see if that works - i.e. to test if it is just the "break handler" that is not working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
david_hoyle



Joined: 13 Oct 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2014 10:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

thanks for the suggestion, but the program is not even starting.

if you add a PAUSE command on the first line of the program i doesn't even feature.

Still very confused,

Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index -> Plato All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group