forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index forums.silverfrost.com
Welcome to the Silverfrost forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Plato options/issues

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index -> Plato
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
steveDoyle



Joined: 04 Sep 2009
Posts: 56
Location: Manchester

PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 11:50 am    Post subject: Plato options/issues Reply with quote

PLATO V.4.63

Is possible to switch off the PLATO "smart" editing features

i) spaces not tabs
ii) HOME mean column 1 not first character
iii) a character in column 6 does not cause an extra character to be inserted

I still used f77 (fixed format) code for compatibility with external code analysers

other issues
i) ability to specify location for .OBJ files (debug and release). I edit and test compile in PLATO but then recompile and link in CMD window as i use a series .BAT files to handle the build cycle.
ii) the "fiind in files" (typo in menu) option default to "look in current file only". if i wanted this behaviour i would used the standard "find" option. also cannot access function unless a source window is open.
iv) as "Close all BUT this" option would be nice on the source file window tab.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulLaidler
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 4816
Location: Salford, UK

PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 1:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The first two items can be found in the Options dialog (from the Tools menu).

I don't get the behaviour you describe under (iii) but this might relate to how tabs are processed.

You can specify the location for .obj files if you create a Plato project.

"Find in files" should remember your previous usage "look in current file only".

I will note your request under item (iv).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveDoyle



Joined: 04 Sep 2009
Posts: 56
Location: Manchester

PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 1:54 pm    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

The first two items can be found in the Options dialogue (from the Tools menu).

i already have the "replace tabs with spaces" and "pressing home goes to first character on line" selected but the editor ignores them



I don't get the behaviour you describe under (iii) but this might relate to how tabs are processed.

You can specify the location for .obj files if you create a Plato project.

I cannot find on option to set this behaviour. the nearest option i can find
sd the "miscellaneous\output filename" but it refers to the project EXE



"Find in files" should remember your previous usage "look in current file only".

this seems to be reset every time i open the project file
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    forums.silverfrost.com Forum Index -> Plato All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group